Go big or go home…

View from the ground

Posted on: February 2, 2009

We’re one week in and doing well. J had to go straight into work after a single day off, which must’ve been hella hard – he certainly had my sympathy. (Especially as I have been swimming, reading & sunbathing, basically being an expat wife layabout.)

In between expatting and laying about, I have been busy house hunting. This in an arduous task that means asking myself many challenging questions: is two tennis courts enough; how much space does a maid *really* need? That kind of thing.

I’ve been to about 20 viewings in the past week, ranging from enormous but ancient apartments with peeling paint and a surfeit of dark wood to ridiculously pert new-builds with bomb shelters (“Only 30 minutes drive to the subway, mam”).

We’ve settled on one and are putting an offer in today, but I don’t want to say anymore cos I’m superstitious and fear that committing my thoughts to paper might jinx the deal.

We got to see a bit of the city over the weekend. On Saturday evening, one of my best friends from uni’s best friends from school (still following?) took us to Newton Circus for satay and carrot cake.

Both J and I assumed they were talking about the sponge-carrot-creamcheese frosting version of carrot cake, yet neither of us questioned the pairing of high tea components with grilled meat and peanut sauce.

Turns out high tea has nothing to do with it. Carrot cake is kind of a radish (white carrot) omelette, and bloody delicious. We also had stingray – that was for you Fry, now there’s one less in the world for you to worry about.

After that we put away a bottle of shochu in a Japanese bar (the budgeting is going badly), then found ourselves at the quays watching a rather rotund transvestite cover 80s rock classics. We definitely didn’t sing along to Bon Jovi or Guns N’ Roses though, and wouldn’t admit it if we had.

On Sunday a Singaporean friend showed us round Chinatown, where New Year’s celebrations are still in full swing, and took us to dinner at a Korean restaurant where the food came in hot stone bowls (and J ate mushrooms :-ooooo).

Today has been more pedestrian – got a bank account, got a phone, got some work to get on with. On that front, I’m temporarily borrowing my soul back while I do a bit of freelance journalism, and also have a second interview with an ad agency on Thursday morning. Phew on both counts, looks like J might not get paid until the end of March!!

In other news, I still haven’t got bored of saying “Ah, it turned out warm again,” every morning when I step outside. Hopefully I will tire of this before J puts an end to it by punching me fatally in the back of the neck.

Hope you’re all well. I hear it’s snowing in London, bad luck!

Elle xx

8 Responses to "View from the ground"

For Krissakes don’t touch th’ turnip cake. It has th’ colour, texture and flavour of a sea-elephant’s trunk. Always th’ last thing left on a dim-sum trolley. I think it’s there for randy uncles to dance with.

Mmm, randy uncles, my fave.

You can make carrot cake (UK-stylee) with beetroot and dark choc but I’ve never tried it.

Good luck with the interview. Gotta disagree with Jason, I think turnip cake is the nom

Shoulda known JBS wasn’t to be tursted!

I have a try most things once policy with food, as long as it isn’t anything endangered like snow leopard or cod.

IT’S A TURNIP!! I hardly think such a sweeping trust based statement can be made over a root vegetable. I’m miffed. Miffed, I tells ya.

Astounded that J has tried mushrooms. Is the heat getting to him? He’ll be out taking mad dogs for walks at midday in a minute.

Apparently “mushrooms are different in Asia”. Less slimy. Bless ‘im.

[…] I was quite surprised when I wrote the one week post, “Really, a week’s gone already?”, and jubilant at one month, “Wow, we’re really doing […]

Leave a Reply

