Go big or go home…

Singapore sights and sounds #01

Posted on: February 6, 2009

• A blind busker with a sign that read “I am sorry I cannot see you appreciating my kind music.”

• A cover story from Simply Her, Singapore’s Cosmo: Don’t fire your maid! Strategies to keep her happy and competent.

simplyher

I read the article slack-jawed. Advice included:

Treat your maid as you would your children. Be patient and always set clear boundaries.

and:

Don’t be rude or abrupt when you issue orders. Try always to say please and thank you.

WTF! I would never ask another human being (adult or child) to do something for me without trying to be polite. But J says clearly lots of people are rude, and at least the magazine is trying to do something about it.

The rest of it was dull as anything, party-line all the way. “How to be more productive in the office.” “How to budget better.” And LOTS of ads, mostly for skin whitening products.

• The nicest McDonald’s I’ve ever seen:

Orchard Road Maccy D's

Orchard Road Maccy D's

That’s all for now. Zai jian, hao peng you, happy Friday everyone!

2 Responses to "Singapore sights and sounds #01"

As a comment on the respect level towards maids from some people (I was about to say most, but heck, let’s be polite), see this link

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_334180.html

Welcome to sunny Singapore!

I want to go to that maccy D’s and I will be your maid it sound like a good job

Leave a Reply

