Go big or go home…

We’ve found a flat!

Posted on: February 10, 2009

Yesterday was slightly stressful, but by tea-time J and I had secured ourselves a place to live.

The process was rather portentous though. It all started to go wrong when I turned up at the bank to get a cashier’s order for the landlady (in lieu of a chequebook). I’d allowed half an hour for this task, surmising that few people could have urgent banking needs at 11am on a weekday.

How wrong I was! The queue moved torturously slowly, and I was 20 minutes late meeting my agent. She was good natured about it, but I did see her jaw set into a slightly harder line when I informed her that I’d also forgotten the letter of intent.

This document – meticulously filled out by J and I that morning, and still sitting neatly on our coffee table – was the crux of the whole meeting. It is signed by everyone involved, and means no one can back out without paying at least some damages.

“It’s ok,” the agent reassured me. “I have copies. You and the landlord can sign now, J can sign again later.” So we went up, met the landlady, lied cheerfully to her: Do you have pets? Nope. Do you smoke? Definitely not! Then the moment came to hand over the cash.

“Um, this should be a ‘G’, not a ‘Q’,” the landlady said.

Aaaarrrggghhh!

My agent drove me back to the bank, and deposited me in another hour-long queue. By the time I’d got the right cheque, with the right name on it, the simple task of meeting someone to exchange pieces of paper had occupied me for four hours.

It’s done though, the flat is ours! And the cheery optimist in me thinks that if things go wrong at the beginning they’ll only get better as we progress.

The flat is lovely – two bedrooms, two bathrooms, amazing views, little maid’s balcony. I don’t have pics yet, but here’s the project from the outside:

City Square Residences

City Square Residences

And here are some photos of the surrounding area.

4 Responses to "We’ve found a flat!"

I’m concerned by th’ concept of a maid’s balcony. Is this an outside area where you make your maid sleep? Is there a small, crudely padded basket and some chew toys on it?

Please tell me it has more than one lift to allow for break downs.

@JBS: The older apartments we viewed had full on maid’s quarters. Kitchen, little bedroom and bathroom off it, and then a balcony for washing and drying laundry.

Our balcony is kinda vestigial, just a tiny little space for the washer, dryer and a few mops.

Of course, we’re getting a tiny little maid, so she should fit fine.

@Mamma: Fortunately there’s four. Not sure what happens if there’s a fire!

More bad omens (slash stupidity on my part):

Got the new cashier’s order without cancelling the old one. Assumed it was just like a cheque, so tore it into tiny pieces and chucked it in the bin.

Except it’s not like a cheque. It’s guaranteed. So the bank had already moved the money out of our account. Twice.

Cue immense panic, as it dawns on me that the bloody thing might’ve been a bond, and that I might’ve just shredded $3,000.

Quick websearch and an a phonecall to the bank has confirmed that it’s only a hemi-demi-bond. I can still cancel it having destroyed it, but it’s gonna cost me.

I’m not complaining; $15 is a hell of a lot better than several thousand.

Leave a Reply

