Go big or go home…

Mixed feelings

Posted on: July 27, 2009

Just spent an awesome two weeks in Europe.

Had so much fun, saw so many people, ate so much food. Especially drank so much booze – I expect my liver now resembles Champagne-scented fois gras.

It’s a good opportunity for comparisons. I mentioned psychological contracts in the post below, and I think these constitute the easiest thing about England/hardest thing about Singapore.

Spending time with people I know inside out is great because it’s so socially easy – getting to know people in Singapore is a more tentative process.

The other thing I loved about being back in London was the diversity. Singapore thinks it’s diverse because it’s vaguely multicultural, but really it has no idea what the word means. London teems with cultural identities, personal identities, brass bands,

goths on bicycles, dogs in hats – every stupid thing you can imagine. On Saturday morning I saw a guy on the tube, pilled off his tits, discussing Murakami with an Australian woman in a twin-set.

Singapore has (chooses her words carefully) rather less individual identity, although there are good side effects with that – no beggars (if there are homeless people here I don’t know where they go – they certainly don’t beg under cash machines), no shootings, no glue-sniffing 12-year-olds (again, not that I’ve seen).

Even so, I expected to feel pretty sad leaving the UK yesterday, and certainly for the last hour of the plane ride I was quite down, but I had a lovely sense of home when I returned to my flat here. Even driving out of the airport into the late evening sunshine, I felt a bit of a smile return after my previous brooding.

To bastardise Tibor Fischer, after I die and they split open my heart, they will find a tiny model of London inside, but that shouldn’t stop me enjoying other cities while I’m alive. I think infidelity suits me.

Leave a Reply

